Board of Directors

About Our Biswas


Board Members 

Ranu_IMG_2644Joyasree (Ranu) Mahanti, President
A former computer program analyst, Ranu is a social activist for the empowerment of women of the world.


Margo Smith,
Vice President
Matgo had Master’s degree in adult and continuing education from Michigan State University; director of programs for medical scholars and global health at the College of Human Medicine, Michigan State University; extensive leadership experience in nonprofit organizations

Urmila Pateriya
, Secretary

Urmila, a retired Research Chemist, who has worked in R & D divisions of large corporations, as a manager. Born and brought up in India and have lived in USA for the last 50 years. She has raised funds through her music for NGOs in India, and in USA. She  has visited Odisha twice and met the women benefiting from Nano Finance loans. She is proud to be on the Board of Our Biswas.

Nupur Sethi pic copyNupur Sethi,
A former early childhood educator, Nupur is committed to community service and is a current volunteer for Sparrow Hospital, Lansing, Michigan and several other social benefit organizations. She is passionate about women's social and economic growth nationally and globally.

P11Akshaya Ray, Director
In addition to being a member of Board of Directors, Our Biswas, Akshaya Ray works as the CTO of Revize Software Systems, Troy, MI. Mr Ray came to US in 1991 as a graduate student from India and he graduated with a MS in Engineering Science, Major: Computer Science from LSU, Baton Rouge, LA.  Since 1995, he has been living in Troy, MI with his family.  From day one, he has shown a deep interest in different charitable work/projects. He has been supporting Our Biswas for last many years. He is happy to be part of OB board.

SatyaIMG_1392Satya Subedi, Director
Satya has been in East Lansing, Michigan for over 17 years. Grew up in Nepal. She is currently working as a RN at Sparrow hospital in Lansing, Michigan. She has always wanted to help the poor in the villages of Nepal. She thinks joining the board will give her the opportunity to help the poor women of Nepal through Nano Finance system.


AVarmaAnshu Varma, Director
Anshu  is a financial management professional and has worked in budgeting and financial management roles for over 30 years with the State of Michigan. Her love of community service have resulted in her service on many community boards. She is interested in financial literacy and empowerment of women.


Kamini Gowdaa Peri, Director
Kamini is a HR professional and lives in Austin, Texas with her family. She has been involved in various community projects from the time she was in college and done many fundraiser events for variour organizations/ independent projects. Kamini is interested in education and empowerment for children and women. 

We honor our past as we look forward to the future, and are grateful for the dedication, hard work, and passion these following past board members have given to Our Biswas. 

Aparna Agrawal, Malti Agrwal, Christine Hartman, Padmini Karna, Shakti Kaul, Sharon Monsoma, Sally Pratt, Linda Racioppi, Shobha Ramanand, Reshma Sambare, Margo Smith, Charlotte Wilks, Batool Mir,
Suchitra Pattnaik, April Stone, Ruth Mbabazi, and Uma Shrestha.


© 2018

  • About Us
  • Zoom
  • Our Programs
Powered By Revize Login